top of page
  • Writer's pictureDaira Chavez Hernandez

final illustration


Audience/ Purpose

The intended audience for this illustration project is people whether younger or middle-aged who are interested in traveling to California for outdoor activities. The illustration is a stylized map of California with 8 different locations and drawings to go along with those locations. This is meant for those that like to go outside to hike or enjoy nature. Some of the places are well-known, but some others are more obscure. The purpose of this illustration is to show outdoorsy people some fun and beautiful places they can go to explore and hike through.

Image(s):

The main feature of this illustration is the map of California which is divided into its many different counties. This map is colorful and is helpful in calling the attention of the viewer. Another feature of this is the different drawings of the locations which serve as icons and are meant to show the beauty of each location. The background of the poster is green to covey the outdoorsy and nature aesthetic of the map. The text which states “Welcome to… CALIFORNIA” is in big blocky green letters to appear inviting to the viewer. In addition, each of the locations has the name of the place and the county they are located in to make it easier to the viewer to go the locations.

Process:

In order to create the illustration I first started by outlining the map of California. Then I rasterized the lines and used the Image Trace feature to outline the different lines. Next I used the Live Paint tool to color each county a different color. Then I went online and searched for images of the different places. I proceeded to complete the same process as the map. Some of the places are pretty complex, so they appear more abstract. Lastly, I added the “welcome” text and used the 3-d filter to bevel the writing slightly.

Learning:

From working on this project I learned how to use the star tool and line segment tool. In addition, I learned how to use the pen tool to trace and the Direction Selection Tool and the Selection Tool to create the shapes and to select them and group them. I also learned how to add anchor points to edit shapes and lines to really transform shapes. Then I also grasped how to edit texts and to make them into 3-dimensional texts by beveling them slightly. I learned how to choose something more specific and fine-tuned to create and illustrate something unique. Going into this I was planning on simply choosing the touristy places and create and icon. But, after I got review back I decided to narrow the topic down and make something much more specific.

Next:

On the next project, I will have to be much more careful and organized with my time. I will have to delegate everything to a certain time to not fall behind like I did during this project. I will try to find more specific tutorials that direct much more closely to the project I have in mind.


7 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page